Mainland Mahogany Long Neck Pineapple Like New

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shastastan

Reaction score
I'm having a little angst here. I bought this pineapple and waited about 6 months to get it. It is a beautiful instrument with a really nice hard case. I had a strap button added. It came with Aquila strings. I haven't even had this uke out of the case 5 times. 30 minutes is probably the longest that I've played it at a single session and that was not even continuous. This uke retails for $249.50 at Mainland and the case is $45.

I'm a rookie player and I have 2 other ukes. I don't know if it's the pineapple shape, but I like playing my other ukes more than this pineapple. The tone, resonance, and intonation are all the usual Mainland quality. I like I like Mainland ukes so well that I'm going to buy a mahogany concert when they get some in. I'm willing to sell this one for $260. Buyer pays shipping. U.S. shipments only. Please respond via PM if interested. Photos provided at your request. Thanks.

Last edited:
Hmmmmm...No replies to this value of $295 for $260? Looks like it will have to be going to Ebay.

You know if you sell it on eBay, they will hit you for 9% of the selling price. If you go through PayPal, they will also hit you for another 4%. Have you considered the FleaMarketMusic free sell site or even Craig's List? You say you have a button;do you also have a strap?

I'd pay the extra $35 for brand spanking new plus warranty.

He has a point. I'm not trying to tell you how to sell your Uke', but if it were anything else I'd say you were pricing it too high.

No offense to Shastastan, but I also have to agree with this.

Honestly for anything that can be bought new (not vintage, discontinued, etc) I know I'd need to see a pretty deep discount before a used item, especially from an independent seller (not a store), would catch my interest. 50% off retail, maybe 1/3rd off at most. But just 12% discount from retail? Sorry, not worth the gamble.