baritone for 8 yo?

indigobird

Reaction score
Hello... just introduced myself on this site. I am completely new to uke, and have only played piano. My 8 yo son and I decided to learn ukulele together, as we were introduced to it at our homeschooling co-op, where several kids and parents play them during jam session (fun!). I found an Oscar Schmidt baritone ou53 for $80 on craigslist last week, and am psyched. My son loves the sound of the bari, and I am wondering if the size will be ok for him. He has also expressed interest in learning on a concert, but my concern is that it will be too complicated for me to try to learn on a bari while teaching him on a concert. It seems a bit overwhelming to me, just learning the bari, lol. I would love some feedback from anyone! None of my friends has a bari, and all the kids play concert or soprano, except one teen who plays tenor. Thanks in advance for any recommendations! Much, much appreciated! Michelle

Congrats on a great craigslist find! A nice baritone uke for less than $100 is quite a bargain.

I'd recommend the concert for your young uke player. For a beginner, it's great to play the same chords as the people with whom you play. If all the kids are playing sopranos, concerts, and tenors, it'll be much easier to join in playing one of those size ukes. And it'll be easier for you to learn together if you both have ukes tuned GCEA---traditionally that's sopranos, concerts, and tenors. (I'd recommend against tuning the baritone to GCEA, it won't sound as deep and mellow. You can use a capo on the fifth fret so that you can play the baritone while your son plays a smaller uke. Capos are inexpensive---free if you have a spare pencil and rubber band.)

Keep your eyes peeled for good deals on a smaller uke for your son. Hopefully, you'll get lucky again.

Last edited: