PDA

View Full Version : Tenor Strings on a Soprano?



Paul December
05-14-2012, 07:53 PM
I broke a string on my Soprano banjolele and had an extra set of Tenor uke Worth Browns lying around so tried them out and kind-of dig the sound. I can't feel any difference in tension...
...should it be higher-or-lower? Just in case I'll de-tune it until I hear some responses if it is safe.

Paul December
05-15-2012, 05:13 AM
Anyone? :)

haole
05-15-2012, 12:23 PM
I've been using tenor Worths (both brown and clear) on my Kamaka soprano for about a year with no ill effects. It should be fine!

OldePhart
05-15-2012, 12:38 PM
The regular Worth tenor sets (BT and CT) aren't much heavier than their other sets (CM) (some of the strings are, in fact, the same). Even if they were higher tension, I wouldn't expect much problem other than perhaps intonation and on a banjo uke that's a non-issue because you can move the bridge!

John