why a baritone instead of small size guitar ?

kkmm

Reaction score
I am relatively new to ukulele playing (4 months) but I have played guitars for ages. I started with one concert uke (I did not even know I got a concert !!!), very good sounding, but the frets are a little small for my finger. Now I mostly play the tenor ukulele (that I built myself recently) which fits much better with my fingers.
Naturally, the next step would be a baritone.
I am asking myself: since the baritone are tuned like the DGBE strings of a guitar, does it make sense to play a small classical guitar (kid's size ???) instead of a baritone that has only 4 strings.

So, what the main difference between a 1/2 size guitar and a baritone ? (besides 6 strings vs 4 strings). Why would you choose the baritone instead of the small guitar ?

I have never played the guitar and always thought I would like to learn. I borrowed my friends tenor guitar and was shocked because in that neck size the strings seemed impossible close together. I didn't like it. I purchased a Baritone uke instead. Less off a learning curve and four strings for me was more manageable than six.