So, I'm new and bought a Makala Dolphin

braaains

Reaction score
Firstly, hi all!

I've been a guitarist for about 15 years, and recently wanted to learn the ukulele (mostly after listening to Eddie Vedder's album).

I got myself a Makala Dolphin last week, because it was cheap and had decent reviews. I love it!

It came with black strings (I have no idea what they are). I've read that some are stringed with aquila's and some aren't. I'm assuming these aren't but is there any way to tell? Some youtube videos mention 'black aquilas', which has left me not having a clue.

I've noticed that while it stays in tune really well, the E string is about a quarter of a note sharp starting at about the 7th fret (I can hear it's out, and a tuner on my phone confirms it). I understand that for £30 it can't be perfect, but is the only way to fix it to either file the nut or bridge? I don't trust myself to get it right!

Finally, when playing chords I've noticed that there's a lot less sustain than open. I'm confident that I'm playing it right - being a guitarist helps. Is this just due to it having nylon strings where I'm used to steel, or are the strings rubbish, or is that what's supposed to happen?

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read this - I can't see it being long before I move up to the next price bracket!

Hi and welcome.

I've played (steel strung) guitar for a long time and took up the uke about 4 months ago - I'll never regret it!

What you will have to come to terms with is that you are dealing with a much shorter scale instrument, so intonation issues may be a problem for you. No matter what other players on this forum will tell you, the simple laws of physics dictate that 'stretchy string plus short scale' will always equal problems. The Dolphin is actually really good as intonation is concerned, for such an inexpensive instrument, but the cheap strings it comes with as standard do not do it any favours.