My first clawhammer

BasicUke

Reaction score
I am pretty new to the Uke in general, but I am VERY new to clawhammer. After watching Lil Rev and Aaron Keim do clawhammer tutorials and having Aaron Keim email me some clawhammer tab, I did Boil That Cabbage Down.

Tips and advice appreciated!

It sounds good. However, you want to avoid flicking your fingers and thumb around... the motion should be mostly coming from the forearm as you stroke the strings. I learned to clawhammer a 5-string banjo and the technique used applies to the ukulele as well. Mike Iverson is a great clawhammer banjo player who has one of the best tutorials on the clawhammer stroke. Listen to it and see if it helps... it did for me.
http://www.bluesageband.com/Tab MP3s/right hand technique.mp3

It sounds good. However, you want to avoid flicking your fingers and thumb around... the motion should be mostly coming from the forearm as you stroke the strings. I learned to clawhammer a 5-string banjo and the technique used applies to the ukulele as well. Mike Iverson is a great clawhammer banjo player who has one of the best tutorials on the clawhammer stroke. Listen to it and see if it helps... it did for me.
http://www.bluesageband.com/Tab MP3s/right hand technique.mp3

The forearm and not the wrist? I thought Little Rev and Aaron Keim both explained it like knocking on a door using ONLY wrist. Did I get it wrong?

So, keep the wrist stiff and use the forearm?

The stroke comes from the forearm/wrist... The hand should remain in a relaxed claw shape with the fingers not flicking around...is all I'm saying. Listen to Mike Iverson's MP3 he is good at explaining the classic clawhammer banjo stroke.

The stroke comes from the forearm/wrist... The hand should remain in a relaxed claw shape with the fingers not flicking around...is all I'm saying. Listen to Mike Iverson's MP3 he is good at explaining the classic clawhammer banjo stroke.

Thanks! I'll work on that!