NUD - Holy Kawasaki - Mike has outdone himself on this one.

OldePhart

Reaction score
So, today I received my Mainland satin mango soprano. I think everybody here knows I'm a fan of Mainland ukes so we'll get that out of the way right up front. I'm also a pretty steady customer so I wouldn't be surprised if Mike cherry-picked the whole stable for me so we'll get that out of the way as well.

Even so, this thing is mind-bogglingly good. I'm not joking when I say I got out my 2.5x magnifying hood trying to find anything that qualifies as a flaw. Now, I don't usually go to that extreme to try to find a flaw with a new uke - in fact I'll often buy a second if it will save me a few bucks because I'm just not a bling guy. Still, this thing was just too good (and light) and I don't believe anything from anybody deserves a perfect score - if I was a teacher I'd be that guy the kids all hate :).

I thought I'd finally found a tiny flaw in the side at the heel but what looked like it might be a tiny tool mark is, I think, a tiny insect track across the grain in the wood. Considering how hard I had to look to find it I don't think that quite qualifies as a flaw.

Well...it took a while but I finally found my "flaw." If you hold uke so the neck is pointed at the floor and look down the string holes in the back of the bridge you can see where the finish was scraped away so the bridge could be glued down. LOL Yeah...that's not really a flaw either but it was the best I could do.

The reason this uke got such a close inspection is not because I usually feel it necessary to inspect a uke that closely. The reason it got such a close inspection is because the moment I lifted it from the box I was impressed with how lightly it's built. I'm not exaggerating when I say it's built almost as lightly as my KoAloha. That was what I couldn't believe and why I looked at it so closely.