What kind of quality do you expect in a Ukulele?

hammer40

Reaction score
I am new to music and instruments, only recently (2 months ago) deciding to learn to play the Ukulele. I currently own a Pono AT and as far as I can see it is flawless. The first uke I went with was unacceptably flawed and returned, which led to the Pono, in hindsight it worked out since I love the Pono.

What does everyone expect in a uke? What can be expected from a $300 Mainland or Ohana? What should be expected from $500 to $800 Pono or equivelant uke? When you enter into the $1,000 range of a custom or the "K" brands, do you still see minor finish flaws?

I'm not overly "picky" and can certainly live with some minor finish flaws, but just wondering what to really expect in instruments.

I've been a musician for over 40 years (primarily bass, but also guitar) and find that now, with the ukuleles, I'm not looking for the perfect tone or sustain. How my hands fit and am I comfortable with it have taken over the "wow" factor of my youth. I doubt that I'll ever spend more than $250 on a uke because I'll end up giving it away to someone. I won't do that with my Martin D-18 or Gretsch Countdy Gentleman!

So... I guess to answer your question, intonation, playability and fit are the three most important factors at a low cost.

Thats my story and I'm sticking to it!

I guess I should clarify that I'm asking more about cosmetics. I recently have had to again return a somewhat expensive quality uke with some cosmetic issues. I guess I just don't know what is to be expected in the condition of a new instrument.