The best brand/size ukulele for me personally?

KristenMcFly

Reaction score
I want to learn to play the ukulele and I have some questions about them before I actually dive into trying to play one. I'm new to the world of ukuleles (though not at all new to the world of stringed instruments) and I was wondering what type/brand of ukelele to get that would be a good starter for a low price. I'm particularly interested in playing Never Shout Never songs. I know he uses a tenor, but can his songs only be played on a tenor? (I have heard they are more expensive) also, where is a good place to buy one? Do they have them at somewhere like Guitar Center? If it helps at all, i play the viola (16 inch) and I think the size of a tenor is comparable to the size of a viola. Is this correct? Would it be helpful to me to start on a size similar to my current primary instrument? Are tenor ukuleles a lot more expensive than concert? (these are the 2 sizes I'm trying to choose between) Sorry about all of the questions, but I'm not extremely familiar with ukuleles yet. Thanks for the help!

Note: I think I like the look/sound of the concert the best, so I'm guess what I'm wondering is if it would be a much smaller leap from viola to tenor than from viola to concert.

Last edited:
Welcome aboard!

The differences between soprano, concert, and tenor lie primarily in tone, volume, and the number of frets. You can usually play the same songs on all three, in theory. I say "in theory" because the amount of space on the fretboard can vary quite a bit, so it can be tougher to cleanly play certain chords on a soprano if you have big fingers, or hard to reach certain positions on a tenor if you have small hands. I started on a concert, but I can play my tenor much more comfortably because I have big fingers.