i need a tenor ukulele, any suggestions?

Nate95

Reaction score
i was wondering if any of you have suggestions for a tenor ukulele up to $320. Thanks!:D

Check with MGM, quite sure he can hook you up with an 'uke to fit your needs.

I really wan't it to sound good and i don't need it to be beautiful but i wood like it to look nice. I will also check MGM. Thank you. I was also wanting it to be acoustic electric (forgot to mention that).

Last edited:
i always thought the applause ukes (is that acoustic electric.. dont hate, im still learning :D ) were around $500. i looked up aldrines 1's and they were around $500.

i think all ukes look great, sound over beauty.

What do you mean by choosing a sound?

What do you mean by choosing a sound?

I don't know what freedive means by "choose a sound." You can't rightly choose a sound before you even hear them, can you?

You should just go through MGM's eBay store, as others have suggested. MGM sets up the ukulele for you, gives you a pitch pipe and a case, has quick delivery, and even upgrades your strings to Aquilas.

You're probably going to get a Kala, incidentally. Kala's are nice. Many UU members have a Kala. I have a cedar top Kala with a pickup and I'm very happy with it.

If sound is more important than looks for you, I'd suggest you get an ukulele with a solid wood top/soundboard. At your price range, the tops will be either cedar or spruce. Any other top will probably not be solid wood.

What I ment was going with a Spruce top for brightness or Cedar for a little more warmth or even though its not a solid top the Mahogany for depth and bark and so on....
Even with out hearing a certian uke you would think what kind of voice/sound to expect from it.