Shipping a Uke

snunez

Reaction score
What is the cheapest reliable method to ship a uke? I've never done this before. Is it UPS Ground? If so, it would cost around $140 to ship to HI (as estimated on the UPS website).. that's around the same as my selling price!

When I've shipped to HI I've gone with USPS, for the reasons you stated. It's around $30-$35 (including insurance) for priority mail.
yep, seconding Jane. USPS Priority the way to go!!!

One thing I've learned the hard way: UPS and USPS measure/categorize box sizes differently. In some cases, it's actually been cheaper for me to ship a larger box because it wasn't "of abnormal shape." Who says the post office is in trouble?!

I just shipped a tenor ukulele with two cases from Michigan to Hawaii with USPS (Express I think). It cost me $102, but arrived within 3 days. Pretty reliable service. :)

I think the clerk also told me that there was another service (Priority??), which would cost around $80-$90 for the same items. But no guarantee on how long it took from 10 days to 3 weeks.

Good luck!

UPS uses something called dimensional weight, a rather oxymoronical device that basically says that, as a box gets bigger, we make some assumptions about what it ought to weigh, and charge you accordingly. That means a box with a uke and appropropriate packing materials which might weigh 7 or 8 pounds is charged as if it weights about 30 pounds. USPS doesn't do this; for most parcel mail, they have size limits, but within those limits, they charge based on weight. USPS also offers several options, including Parcel Post, which can be very cheap, but also can take weeks.