Uke Building Books?

amandadverse

Reaction score
The world of uke bulding is fascinating! As a total newbie, all of the little intricasies involved are a little overwhelming, but I really want to learn more. Google + hours on the computer drive me nuts, so I was wondering if anyone could suggest a good book to get me started on the subject. Thanks in advance!

I'm in the same boat as you. want to build one for personal use. I have gotten the following through interlibrary loan.

Ukulele Construction by Dennis Gilbert

Ukulele design and Construction by D. Henry Wickham. This has a plan associated with it, but it did not come with the book and I am not sure if I want to buy it.

I cannot rate the info in these books since I have not built one yet or spent any time with a builder. Both books will give you how each author goes about building an instrument.

If you want to build one investigate the "Youthalele" posted by Bradford. I think I'm going to try one of these to start.

I'm sure someone else will step in with other books that might be of use.

The one I see listed most often is the Hana Lima instruction manual and plan which can be ordered direct.

Other ways are to dig through this forum and check out the youtube videos. There are a lot of talented people building and amazing range of instruments. some with a fully tooled shop and some at the kitchen table with minimal tools and a lot of time and ingenuity.