Baritone Bridge Help.....

Reaction score
Hey Fellow Uke'rs

i have a question an Baritone Uke Bridges...i have a Kingston.
i need to replace the one in the pic , but being a new uke'r , i have little knowledge on uke bridges,
do all bridges have to have bone saddles , i'm not sure if this had one before or not, this is the way i received the uke ,
do they make bridges like this or would i be better of getting one with a bone saddle, the nut on the fretboard is wood, not bone or plastic, so i was thinking i needed an all wooden bridge......

IMG_1841.jpg

any help would be fantastic

thanks
Bob Uku'er

Last edited:
Hello Uke If Ya Got'em,
Welcome to UU. It looks like a nice walnut sound board. If you do not want to get into a lot of work you can keep what is already in place.
This is a simple fix. Your existing saddle is fine BUT you have to work on the broken bridge. You may want to put a lot of work into the uke later if you care for the sound by replacing the bridge but for now here is the procedure.
Drill 4 holes through the bridge with a 1/16" drill bit. Push the strings through and into the box towards the sound hole. Fish each one out and tie a ferrule from an old set of steel strings to each string. Tune it up and away you go. You can PM me if this is not clear.
Regards
1931jim
PS: I just had supper and I thought I would add.....The drilling of 4 holes through your existing bridge will not be too big a problem if you do decide to put on a new bridge and saddle. Just plug with 1/16" dowels, or leave for the glue to ooze through whenever you tackle the bridge replacement if the sound warrants it.

Last edited:
Looks like from the picture that your bridge and saddle is one piece....you could repair the bridge if you are inexperienced in changing bridges as slight difference affect the intonation...and you
may need a set up afterwards... yes a compensated saddle maybe if needed.. remember to measure and mark the saddle position if you do..

i forgot to add that