Picked up my new Kanile'a Premium Island Inlay tenor from HMS

wickedwahine11

Reaction score
About four years ago when I started playing the ukulele, the first "real" uke I bought was my Kanilea K2 tenor. I really wanted one of their island inlay tenors but couldn't afford it at the time. Ever since then, I've been fortunate enough to have some great ukes, but I couldn't get that island inlay one out of my head. Still, I just couldn't justify having two Kanilea tenors.

So a couple of weeks ago I was browsing the Hawaii Music Supply website and happened to notice that they had a sale on one that they had in stock. I mentioned it to my spouse as a joke, and asked for it as my anniversary present. To my shock, I was told that if I sold my current Kanilea tenor (I have a one uke in, one uke out policy now), the balance owed would in fact be my anniversary present.

So I ended up selling my K2 tenor (thanks Mike I hope you like it!) and bought the new one from Music Guy Mike last Friday. He ended up dropping it off at the Kanilea factory this week so that Joe could install a pickup in it, and yesterday I took a bus out to Kaneohe and got my new baby.

I'm not going to lie, when Joe opened up the case to show it to me, I got incredibly choked up and almost started to cry. This uke had been my dream for so long and I couldn't believe it was finally mine.

I am still in Hawaii so I don't have any photos taken of it yet, other than the one Kristen took yesterday of my Mom, Joe and I (and put on Kanilea's twitter and Facebook), and the ones from the Hawaii Music Supply website. I'll take more when I get home and put it in its humidified cabinet next to its sibling ukes.