can't decide...help!

Blue Skies

Reaction score
O.K. I introduced meself last nite and am now drowing in information dredged up from everywhere.

I am a virgin beginner to playing instruments. I have wanted for a while to start lessons in something...the guitar, the piano, drums...but now my Pop has talked me into joining his senior action baritone ukulele group. Dad's 82 by the way...and his teacher sold him a $30 uke thinkng maybe he wasn't gonna live that long??? (joke) Anyway, I've joined and need to get up to speed and have been researching everything that hasn't put me to sleep!

So far I've come up with, a $30 uke is NOT the way I want to go, the better ukes have a solid wood front and the best ones are all solid wood everything pretty much. My price range is about $200 so I think I can afford to get a solid front.I've also been reading on how the 'set-up' of the instrument matters. (Never, ever, knew that!)

At this point I don't know a 'g' from a 'd' except from the alphabet, so I really could use some input from all these great and varied minds out there. Can you help?

I am waffling between the Cordoba 20BM solid mahogony top for about $179, the Ohana BK50 solid mahogony top for about $209 and the Koloa KU650 all solid mahogony I've seen for about $165. The problems are I don't know if the Koloa has a set up with it. Knowing what I now know I would like one. I've read that the Ohana comes already set up and if I go with the Cordoba, I'd most likely purchase it from , well, Musicians Friend has it for cheaper but I don't know if they do the set up that Hawaiin Music Supply does. I watched a video at HMS and man, they really get them going good! I'm trying to save $$ for a case and a stand and notes and group fee, etc., but I'm driving myself crazy researching all this.