Criticisms wanted!

HydePryde

Reaction score
Hey y'all :)
Well, I've been playing for 3 whole days now, and I'd love some feedback. I don't know anyone in my area who plays, and there are no uke stores here, so I'm hoping y'all can help a beginner out...
I must preface this by saying - I know I am playing the wrong chords for this uke...it's a baritone uke, and I'm playing the chords for "Hallelujah" as posted on ukukelehunt.com. However, I'm waiting for my concert uke to arrive (Friday, I hope!), so I'm making do!
I really have only been playing for about 2.5 hours total, and I don't play other instruments, so I'm a rank beginner, so I know I'm making lots and lots of mistakes, I stop a lot, and I play slowly. However, I'd love advice on simple things like:
Am I holding it correctly?
Are my hands in the right places?
Does my strumming technique look generally okay?
Any other advice is appreciated as well.
Thanks all!
Here's hoping this doesn't become a viral worst-uke-playing-ever video! ;)
http://youtu.be/YBqMEpRrAQI

Great beginnings.... You obviously need practice changing chords, but the fluidity you will acquire is just down to lots of practice. After that, like riding a bike, you'll never forget it. Your strumming hand seemed to need a little loosening up IMHO, but that might just be you getting stiff due to being nervous about videoing these first steps for public consumption and the above mentioned unfamiliarity with chord changes (plus I'm guessing you keep looking up to remind yourself which chord comes next, huh? ).

All in all, I think you're well on the way. Enjoy playing, that's the main advice I'd give. I'm no old hand myself on the Uke, but I am loving playing this versatile little instrument that is so close to, but yet so different from the guitar I have played for many years..

If at three days in we can recognize the tune, I would breathe a sigh of relief and say Hallelujah...
You are not going to be the worst Uke player ever :)