Transition from Barre chords

Rowly

Reaction score
Hello all,
Asyou will tell i'm new to the uke (and any instrument) but I seem to be getting the hang of it. The biggest thing I'm struggling with is supporting the uke between a barre chord and another.
At the moment I am trying to get "white sandy beach" sorted. When I go from F to Bb and on to Bbm7 my thumb shifts around to the back leaving a space under the neck. From there to go to F how do I support the neck?

Hi Rowly

I use a strap. There are many types - Ukulele Leash is non-traditional but there are followers. A classical-guitar style hook, Jake has been doing that recently. I use more like a guitar-type strap (mine is a lot narrower, maybe it was a mandolin strap). You can experiment with a twine between a headstock and an end pin(I hope you have one).

Anyway, that frees up your left hand from the holding duty and you can reposition of your left hand without dropping your ukulele.

Cheers
Chief

Thanks Chief,
I noticed Aldrine uses one in the tutorial. I always assumed they were somehow a device for people who play for ages and have to put up with the weight! Clearly that's not the case. If you and Aldrine use them I shall look into fitting one.
Great tip thanks.
Rowly

For barre chords I normally use my thumb in the back of the neck for support but for other chords like F, C, and G I rest the neck of my ukulele between my index finger and thumb. Some people might not recommend this method or they may say that it is not proper form but I do this and I don't have many problems with barre chords. The only problem I have is that my thumb gets a little sore after a while. Hope this helps.

I've always played guitar with my thumb over the neck, and I'm finding it quite handy to use this to grip the neck while playing chords.

Thanks for your suggestions folks, keep them coming.....