Plectrums...........

bodhran

Reaction score
As a complete novice to any instrument with strings I am having a huge problem strumming with my fingers. This is I guess in part due to inexperience and in part to the stroke I had a few years ago that left me with less control of the fingers in my right hand and less feeling. I just cannot get my brain to get my right hand fingers to move quickly enough.

The upshot is I have started to play using a plectrum which I find much easier.

So far i have been making plectrums out of thin plasticard and have found that a plectrum with a very thin tip (In terms of width and thickness) produces a much better sound.

As a complete novice to any instrument with strings I am having a huge problem strumming with my fingers. This is I guess in part due to inexperience and in part to the stroke I had a few years ago that left me with less control of the fingers in my right hand and less feeling. I just cannot get my brain to get my right hand fingers to move quickly enough.

The upshot is I have started to play using a plectrum which I find much easier.

So far i have been making plectrums out of thin plasticard and have found that a plectrum with a very thin tip (In terms of width and thickness) produces a much better sound.

I'm glad that you're finding a way to make the ukulele work for you!

There are plectrums/picks especially for ukulele made of felt, but I have no experience with them. As a former guitar player, I can tell you that the thickness and material of your pics can really make a tonal difference, so have fun experimenting. :)

How interesting!

When I was playing guitar, I started using my fingers alone, because I couldn't hold onto the plectrum (or "pick" as we usually call it over here) and kept dropping it.