Ukulele Groups: How are your meetings organised?

Tootler

Reaction score
I recently started a ukulele group for Middlesbrough U3A. We meet once a month in a local community centre.

Most of the members were absolute beginners so up till now, the meetings have been pretty unstructured as I have been spending most of my time helping individuals get started fingering basic chords and doing simple strums.

However, I feel the time has come to inject some more structure into the meetings. We are quite a small group just half-a-dozen or so members. We have had more come in total but some have decided ukulele was not for them which is fair enough.

I have some thoughts on how I might structure meetings but would like to get ideas/experience from others on what has worked and what has not. As a small group, I would like to keep it pretty informal, but some structure is needed if I am not to lose members.

Whether you run a group yourself or just go along as a participant I would love to hear about your experience.

If you have a small group in a startup mode, it would be good to invest in a club song book (in a ring binder) that you, personally, bring to every meeting. Share the electronic files of the songs so they can have them, but bringing a book to your meeting, with all the same versions of a song, is a real plus in keeping everyone together. (Too many club members don't keep up a personal library and you end up with confusion.)

Google Drive is one way to have all the electronic song sheets available to all your participants.

You might start the session with some instruction, then a tune or two with a strong beat to get everyone working together, then to more general jams, then to any new songs and solos. Finish with a familiar tune that you do all the time -- Happy Trails, Goodnight Irene -- whatever works for the group for a closing number.