Need to brush up on the basics...

MatChippUK

Reaction score
I've been playing the Uke for around a year now, but seem to be in a bit of a rut, and have decided that I really need to work on my basic technique. So my question is... what are the best books/resources out there to help me work on my basic ukein' toolkit that aren't aimed too directly at the total novice? Thanks.

The very best resource I have found for just that scenario is to join a club/group/gathering and play with other people. It is amazing how much "rubs off" just by watching others play and having them watch you play.

I've been playing the Uke for around a year now, but seem to be in a bit of a rut, and have decided that I really need to work on my basic technique. So my question is... what are the best books/resources out there to help me work on my basic ukein' toolkit that aren't aimed too directly at the total novice? Thanks.

You're not alone, I'm in exactly the same place. Been playing for a year now, and growing tired of playing the same few songs I've learned, but finding it hard to learn new songs. Also, my uke knowledge and technique just feels kind of shaky.

So, I'm working through the book & CD that came with my first uke, which is Play Ukulele Today (A Complete Guide to the Basics), from Hal Leonard.

I'm also going through The Ukulele Explosion, the new e-book from R. J. Smith, which seems really good. He has an easy, conversational style of writing, and the book presents a lot of basic concepts in ways I haven't thought of before.

Although I'm not knocking out any new songs, I feel like I'm gaining competence and confidence by focusing on some fundamentals now, that I'll be able to build on later (if that makes any sense).

Anyway, that's just where I'm at. Thanks for reading. :)

Last edited: