Strumming question

harrylime

Reaction score
I am an old guy and a complete novice. (my first post) I am loving practicing the chords and as I have some limited guitar experience years ago I seem to be learning the shapes okay. My problem is the right hand" I am putting my index finger and thumb together and using the index finger nail to strum but I constantly get caught in an individual string and find it hard to stroke accross the whole of the strings. Is there a technique that will help me to strum more cleanly or is it all just practice practice? Thanks for any advice.:confused:

Hi Harrylime

There are lots of ways of strumming. The one you mention is one I've seen often among guitar players. It seems less common among uke players, but I've seen it used to good effect. So if you're comfortable with it, and want to stick with it, it should come good with practice.

The reason a lot of guitar players like it is that it mimics the pick grip to some extent, and forms a very strong structure when strumming (relatively) high-tension steel strings. For the uke, with lower tension strings, it's not really necessary to back up the finger with the thumb. With this grip the movement has to come from the forearm - either up and down or rotating. If you leave the finger unsupported you can use the finger movement itself, which can be quicker.

My advice - keep this technique if you like it, but experiment with others to see if they might work better for the uke.

Last edited:
One simple method actually used by some pros (I use it a lot but that doesn't mean much) is to use the forefinger on down (nail) and up (flesh) strokes and the thumb (nail) on down strokes only. I suggest practicing down with nail of forefinger, immediately followed by thumb (flesh) down, then the forefinger (flesh) up. Might take a look at this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q_CmQEnSHpQ

Tom