Your transcribing process?

Monkeyswithladders

Reaction score
I'm working on my next multitrack (and am having a BALL btw, this one is so much fun), and I'm getting to a point where I have to do something I'm not good at in order to serve the song the way I want to. Learn a part of it by ear, and for a different instrument. So I'm asking for help at what your process is.

Let's say you hear a song and there's a clarinet solo in it that you want to put into your arrangement of the song, but on something else, like ukulele or guitar. How would you go about transcribing the piece? Also assume you can't find tab or sheet music on the part you're looking to do.

I've thought about putting the music into an editing program and prolonging each note and putting a tuner up to my speakers, then writing out the notes and figuring out how to play them-- that'll take forever though so I was wondering if anyone has any better ways before I hop to it.

Play the tune and pause it after each note or phrase. Hum that note or tune as best as you can and then match it on your uke.

Man I wish I had a good enough ear to do that. Right now I'm working on the monkey song from Jungle Book, which I had on vinyl since like age 4. So I can hum the trumpet part by memory almost exactly-- I just can't match it on an instrument, but I'll keep trying. Thanks for the advice though.

However, I just finished everything up to the solo, so I might just get started on tuning it out so I can get going on finishing the rest-- this song is so much fun :D

I was having the same problem when I was transcribing "California Dreaming" and I found a youtube tutorial on jimmyrcom's channel. His video tutorial titled "Download Sheet Music For Any Instrument From any Source" came in very handy for me.