Not a good start !

harrylime

Reaction score
Ah well, as I posted in my 'hello' message I am new, an old guy (73 next b'day) and I had a friend who bought me a second hand Uke Banjo for £90. What a bag of worms it turned out to be! Head was too small leaving a 1/2" gap to the base of the neck, crude finish, plastic 'vellum' with DADI in large letters, only 3 tension screws per side crudely fixed with large headed Phillips screws and the back plate attached with 3 screws and wonky washers!! Add to that the neck was twisted and had the appearance of a toy. It's been returned!! hopefully for a full refund of £90. So my dilema is do I go for another Uke banjo or,.. I have my eye on a rather nice Ukulele which is an Aria ACU250 Concert. It seems to me a nice Uke Banjo will work out more expensive than a decent uke and as I am just learning maybe a uke would be best. I do already have a cheap Falcon ( sell for around £15) which I had given but want something just a bit better. Any thoughts appreciated Cheers Harry.

Last edited:
If banjo uke is what you actually want to play, then go for that. You will need to splash out a bit of cash to get a decent one though, and a poor instrument is more hindrance than help. I think the cheapest decent one you'll get new is the Firefly. Basic price for one of these is $179 ex. delivery, so not cheap, but reviews on it are positive.

If that's too much at this stage, then I think better get a decent uke than a poor banjo!

I'm not too sure of how Dollars relate to GBP's these days but I don't mind spending around £200. I just fancy playing some Formby style music and want to try triplets and fan strokes etc.,(eventually:drool:) Are these strokes also played on Uke or are they Uke banjo strokes? sorry to be naive!

Welcome Harry,