Is this really a 1920s Martin Style 1 ?

Hi
I am not an expert, but am the owner of a 20's style 1 koa uke. So I can compare this to mine.
the rosewood binding is correct, hardwood nut & saddle are from earlier models (mine are ebony), the four dots are correct for style 1. The shape and sound hole rosette are right, but the headstock shape and the pointy bit at the body-end of the fretboard are a very little bit off. But they were handmade, so that may just be variation. Both of my 20's Martins have black wood tuning pegs, which are died maple I believe, not ebony. The originals have a drilled hole for the string, while these have a slot.
Given the grain and color of the body wood it MIGHT be a koa one, it can be hard to tell under 90 years of grime. I'm not sure when the earliest K's were produced, and whether they ever had the hardwood nut & saddle.
THis one has a light fretboard, mine has a dark one.
The other difference is that seen from the side, the binding on the back is light and the binding on the top is dark; probably just a variation.

The one I have is a prized possession, I say thumbs up!
here is what it sounds like with an oafish buffoon playing it: http://youtu.be/m8FTxBdOqAU

Last edited:
I just looked it up in Martin Guitars: A Technical Reference and I would bet real money that that is a 1920(ish) Style 1K in what looks to be very nice condition. If you can get it for less than a grand I'd say it's money well spent.

Scooter

I've got one of these and I must say it's my favourite Martin soprano. light as a feather and louder than anything else I own. (although I wouldn't say no to a 3k ;))
I'd wager it's possibly a little earlier, maybe 1918 as, like mine it has a dot on the 9th fret rather than 10th, boxwood saddle & nut and marginally longer blank piece of fretboard beyond the 12th fret. The headstock is also a little more rounded and hand cut looking.

These were the first production ukulele Martin ever produced, predating the style 0.