New and need assistance...

KCD

Reaction score
I posted the other day in the Introduction area, so there are more particulars in that post. Specifically, I am a beginner. I have played the guitar for years, but age and arthritis have taken their toll on my fingers. I can't handle the wire strings any more, and six of them are just too many. I'm thinking a baritone uke would suit me just fine. Gentle nylon strings and less of them, but with no new chords to learn. This is an experiment that I hope will work out, but I want to ease in gently; I can always upgrade if the experiment is a success.

Dose anyone have any experience with these specific instruments...
1.) Kohala KP-B Kanikapila
2.) Makai BK-55
3.) Makala MK-B
4.) Lanikai KP-B Knaikapila

I've heard the Makala on You-Tube and it sounds fine, but someone at a big on-line store told me it was junk. I've not heard the others. everybody who has a Makala loves it. I've read as many reviews for all three as I can get my hand on and all I'm doing now is confusing myself. Point is I will probably buy one of the three, but most likely it will be a "sight unseen" purchase; there are no uke sellers anywhere near me and now uke players that I know of in the area either. Of the three, which one would most likely please me ???

Thank you for your help...

KCD

Last edited:
If it's to me one of the three you've listed, I recommend the Lanikai. I have very little experience with Baritones, but all makais and Makalas I've tried have been at best entry level instruments at best. Lanikais seem to be more musical and better made.

I doubt you'll beat this one. My son has one, and it looks like it costs at least 3 times the price. Sounds sweet.... all solid mahogany, bone nut and saddle. (note qualifier) For this kind of money, blows away "everything"

http://www.ebay.com/itm/The-Music-L...026?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a768b6cda