The Ultimate Beginner

sheeshkebab

Reaction score
Hi! I haven't even seen or held a uke before, but I want to learn how to play. I can't get over how lovely they sound. Have some minor (lol) music background as I played the piano in school and into college.

I have a few questions.

1) What size would suit an absolute beginner?
2) How much would I be looking at paying for a ukulele, in the UK?
3) Why am I so late to the game? :D

Any help, advice and ideas appreciated.

If you have very large hands you might want to avoid the soprano (though many people with very large hands do play soprano and well). Unless your hands are really tiny, much smaller than normal for an adult, you should be able to handle anything right up through baritone.

The second thing is to consider what attacted you to the uke, what is your playing style likely to be? If you're going to be strumming and singing then any size is appropriate, with concert probably being the all around easiest for a beginner to master (fingerings are neither too cramped nor too stretchy). If you think you're going to want to learn fingerstyle then a tenor is highly recommended for the extra frets.

While, as mentioned above, anyone with normal sized hands can learn to play a baritone easily enough as a beginner you might not want to make it your first instrument. The tuning is different (and usually linear instead of reentrant) so you're going to be at a bit of a handicap when it comes to playing with uke groups or online video instructions and so on.

John