Don't know how to do my own thing...

s4ndyUk

Reaction score
So I have been playing the ukulele for over 2 years now, and I've been finding OTHER PEOPLES versions of my favourite tunes and plucking them to myself being perfectly happy.

I had recently bought Jake Shimabukuro's songbook, "Peace, Love, Ukulele." I had managed to learn half of Jake's version of Bohemian Rhapsody, when I suddenly felt like I wasn't doing anything new, or anything personal to me. I felt as if I needed more freedom in playing some of my favourite tunes and songs.

So my question for all of you Ukulele Gods at Ukulele Underground, "How do you make your own versions of songs and tunes?"

Your not alone brother. There are a lot of us like yourself out here including myself. I've been doing While my guitar gently weeps and about halfway thru. Bohemian rhapsody is next on my list. I'm fairly happy with where I am at this point which is probably no further then you. I feel that if I am able to do their versions of the songs then that's pretty good since that's the way they are meant to be done.
Are you wanting to change the version of the songs you are doing or wanting to do them Differently then the way they were originally done?

I replied to this thread but am in no way a ukulele god and will probably never be but I am happy with playing the ukulele.

Change the way its played but still keeping the "feel" of the tune or song that the artist made when writing it in the first place, as that is the thing that makes me love the song in the first place. But adding my own personal flare...

I can't help you as I'm about as far along as you are but there will be others that do know that will reply to this thread that will have answers for you.

Good luck and I'll of course will be watching this thread myself to learn more from the replies.

Hi
I have had similar moments: I had the sensation of just learning party-trick chord changes and playing off song sheets.