Question for the uke teachers

jonyoon

Reaction score
How long do you typically retain students? I've noticed that anyone that I've done uke instruction with seems to be pretty self-sufficient after 1-2 lessons.

I'm not a teacher, but as a student I can tell you how my uke teachers have (and have not) retained me. I've had several different instructors, and have stayed with one for close to three years now, with no intentions of stopping.

The one who has retained me:

• Has challenged me from the start. When I started private uke lessons, I knew basic chords and could strum but wanted to go further - I'm not a singer, so I knew from the start I wanted to play lead, and over the years that's exactly what I've done. He's kept it interesting for me by having me figure out things on my own rather than just handing me printouts to work from.
  • Is compatible with my learning style. I am a visual/kinesthetic learner and not an auditory one - which I suspect is a disadvantage when it comes to music.
  • Has spent as much time teaching me theory as he has teaching me the mechanics of playing. I learn best when I understand *how* things work, rather than when I just learn by rote.
  • Is vastly knowledgeable about just about every style of music on the planet, and doesn't only play and/or teach one style. The variety keeps things interesting and makes me feel that there is always something more to learn.

The ones who have lost me:

• Didn't push me beyond three-chord songs.
  • Spent more time showing off their own playing than they did actually teaching me anything.
  • Limited me to only one style of music.

I can't imagine being self-sufficient after only one or two lessons! But I can imagine giving up on an instructor in that amount of time - not necessarily because they weren't good at what they do, but because it was clearly not a good fit.