What has been your best confidence booster?

Dorothy

Reaction score
I am still very new to playing the uke. I have very low self-confidence. (in all areas of my life, not just uke playing)

I joined our churches worship team with my daughter (she plays electric guitar). My uke does not have a pick up, and I refuse to have a mic put in front of it ... cause I don't think I play well enough.

The last Sunday we played there was a song we did that had a section of music only. Usually my uke is "drowned out" by the 2 accoustic guitars. But, this day one of the guitar players lost her pick and stopped playing, and I was no longer drowned out. On Monday someone called me to tell me how much they enjoyed the sound of my uke in that song, and that they thought I was doing a great job with it.

That was a good confidence booster for me. What has been a boost for you??

Knowing chords well enough (or being able to find them) to play from guitar music when I can't find uke music.

Being able to transpose music to better suit my singing range. (Although I think I probably sing best in a key that hasn't been invented yet! ;) )

My biggest confidence booster was being able to play a bit of Red Hot by Robert Johnson last week.
Still can't figure out the intro though..

I feel very chipper when a quick chord change that I've struggled with (e.g., F/Bb/F7 in "Wait Till the Sun Shines, Nellie") suddenly is no longer a struggle. It happens because of practice, of course, but the first time it seems fairly easy---especially if it's without looking---is like the sun breaking through clouds.

Really- no one said this yet? OK- Liquor.
And a ton of practice.
And kids- they are great, enthusiastic audiences who still love that you are making them dance around even when you mess up.

The best confidence booster is playing ukulele with other people (both other people playing music and other people listening). Hours playing by myself don't benefit me as much as minutes playing with others.