Getting More of a Banjo Sound From My Gold Tone

Liv7301

Reaction score
I just got a Gold Tone and would like to play around with strings to really maximize the banjo sound. It's the deluxe with the resonator back, so that is the sound that I am looking for...a resonator banjo sound. (Not looking for a gut or plunky tone, since that would be better on an open back or the like.)

Has anyone had success stringing Gold Tones with some manner of steel strings? I was thinking about lap dulcimer strings, mostly just because I have one, so I am familiar with them and know they are pretty light. That's just the one thought that I had though...I am totally open to suggestions!

Thoughts? Experiences? Would love to hear your knowledge!

Thanks all!

I have no experience at all with fitting steel strings to a banjo uke. That said, I would be concerned with string tension and the possibility of bowing the neck. I don't know if the neck of your Gold Tone has a truss rod....

I'd just contact Goldtone in Titusville, FL. They are great folks and will go out of their way to help you figure it out, if it's workeable

http://www.goldtone.com/

Good suggestion! I will just contact them directly and see what they say. In my brain, the idea of dulcimer or mandolin strings works but concerns about a truss rod and the amount of tension metal strings need are very valid ones. Hopefully they have a recommendation! I will post it up here if they do.

Good suggestion! I will just contact them directly and see what they say. In my brain, the idea of dulcimer or mandolin strings works but concerns about a truss rod and the amount of tension metal strings need are very valid ones. Hopefully they have a recommendation! I will post it up here if they do.
I've seen some banjo's with a wound C. There is a guy on Ukulele Cosmos named Jboyshine that seems to have a lot of experience with banjoleles might want to look there also.