humidifier questions

J-dawg5

Reaction score
i just got a lanikai tenor zebrawood, acoustic and electic.
im in love with her! I live in colorado, wich is very dry so i need a humidifer. but is safe to put moisture even though i have electronics in there? if not what eles can i do to keep her safe? If so do i need to put it in a case when the humidifier is in? i also got a wall hanger so well it be humidifiedif i leave in on the wall while my humidifier is in ther? please let me know, im new to these solid wood ukuleles.

Congrats on your new Uke. If you keep it in the 40 - 55% range you'll not have a problem. To see if you have a problem I would get a hygrometer like this: http://elderly.com/accessories/items/OGH2.htm

Being out of that range for a bit won't hurt it but not for weeks. In case is easiest to regulate the humidity.

The electronics will be ok.

Have fun and enjoy you new uke

And if it's laminated (as opposed to solid zebrawood) it will be very stable and it's not likely to crack even if you don't humidify it, even in Colorado. If it's solid zebrawood then I would definitely get a humidifer, or you can make them pretty easily.

John

If you are concerned about keeping it safe - I would make sure to use the wall hanger on a wall that is not exposed to the elements on the other side of the wall.

So in Atlanta where the average humidity is above 42% often far above, like all Spring and Summer, no need a hydrometer?

So in Atlanta where the average humidity is above 42% often far above, like all Spring and Summer, no need a hydrometer?

It's not the outside ambient humidity that matters, it's the humidity where the uke is. Chances are the humidity in your house is about 30-35% if you have a properly-sized AC system. (An oversized AC system that doesn't run enough will actually result in higher humidity in the house, and an undersize one that runs constantly will result in even lower humidity.)