Nut Width for Wound Low G

theblackox

Reaction score
I have an Islander MSC-4 and just got a wound Low-G string to experiment with but the string doesn't doesn't quite fit in the nut. Do I have to widen the nut to get that in there? If so, what does that do if I want to go back to a High G? Will it then work for both or will it be a Low G Uke from then on out?

Thanks!

I have an Islander MSC-4 and just got a wound Low-G string to experiment with but the string doesn't doesn't quite fit in the nut. Do I have to widen the nut to get that in there? If so, what does that do if I want to go back to a High G? Will it then work for both or will it be a Low G Uke from then on out?

I've been withholding my tuppence, waiting for someone with a bit more luthery experience to speak up, but no one has.

What I've done is widen the slot only as much as I need in order to get the large string to seat properly. Widening it the least that I can get away with has allowed me to switch back to thinner strings without incident.

Now, while I don't need the string to be loose in the slot, I also don't want it pinching so tightly that I have to force it into place. (Some string materials don't mind being pinched a bit, while others will develop a weak spot there).

Sometimes I widen it toward the bass side or the treble side or both. For me, it depends largely on how I want the string spacing to end up on the particular uke in question.

If the string difference is so great that you will need a saw to widen the slot, it will probably end up too loose for switching back to a reentrant set. (It also might necessitate deepening the slot, which could also cause problems for switching back.)