Some possible steps to make a cheaper ukulele sound better?

Reaction score
Being a beginner, I decided to buy a "cheaper" uke to get the feel of it, see if I want to pursue it, etc. I had my heart set on a Hilo brand, but when I posted a question about sound holes, EVERYONE told me not to get a Hilo brand, and suggested better alternatives such as the Makala Dolphin, Kala or Ohana brand, etc. So I'm now exploring my options, but I've also heard you can make slight modifications such as changing the strings (I was recommended Aquila or Worth) or filing down the bridge to make the ukulele sound a bit better. Now obviously I am not looking to make a 50 dollar ukulele sound as golden as a 200$ one, I'm just looking for ways I can improve it. Any advice is appreciated, thank you.

Being a beginner, I decided to buy a "cheaper" uke to get the feel of it, see if I want to pursue it, etc. I had my heart set on a Hilo brand, but when I posted a question about sound holes, EVERYONE told me not to get a Hilo brand, and suggested better alternatives such as the Makala Dolphin, Kala or Ohana brand, etc. So I'm now exploring my options, but I've also heard you can make slight modifications such as changing the strings (I was recommended Aquila or Worth) or filing down the bridge to make the ukulele sound a bit better. Now obviously I am not looking to make a 50 dollar ukulele sound as golden as a 200$ one, I'm just looking for ways I can improve it. Any advice is appreciated, thank you.

Hello asleighsheila! Welcome to UU forums. You'll be gettin much more info than just mine from way more qualified folks here, I'm sure.