Difficulty Holding Uke

heyjohn

Reaction score
Ok, I know I'm just a beginner but I'm having trouble holding the thing. I either press harder and harder and get marks all over the inside of my forearm, or I overpower it playing bar chords and pull it right out. I know I'm supposed to be gentle....I'm trying to be. I've played some guitar and never really got comfortable with that unless I was sitting down with the body resting on my leg. With the guitar I tried straps but then it hung too low and I couldn't play the left hand. The situation seems to be the same with the uke, although I haven't tried a strap yet. I won't be good enough to stand up and entertain anytime soon but I want to be able to hold it when I get there. Is this just a matter of practice like everything else? Any help is really appreciated.

Aloha

I've just fitted strap buttons to my Uke' and the difference is unbelievable.

If your uke doesn't have a strap button(s) and you aren't sure you want to go that route, consider the Uke Leash--it made a huge difference for me when I started out.

Another possibility is the Uke Thong. I struggled with this issue for five months, and my uke life changed when I found the Uke Thong two days ago. I play sitting down, and it has been a tremendous help.

DIY-strap:
I tied a shoelace around the head and between the two bouts (over the soundhole). It's cheap, comes in multiple colors, and it really helps.

I second the Uke Leash

I used one early on, but I found as time went on, I needed it less and less. I find the important thing was to get the body tucked into the crook of my elbow and I could then hold it quite securely without holding on too tight. It is definitely something that comes with practice.

Uke leash was money well spent though, and it is still there should I need it.

I can bang out 1st position chords all week without a strap, but I can't pull off complicated chord changes right up the neck.