How do I get rid of the sheet music?

addicted2myuke

Reaction score
I've been playing daily for 15 months and doing well as long as I have sheet music in front of me. I cannot even remember a simple song if I am not looking at chord boards. How does one learn to play by ear?

Well, you could look at Jim D'Ville's workshops or DVDs: http://www.playukulelebyear.com/

And, I can't play by ear, but learning to think of a song as a collection of chord progressions, and not a collection of chords has helped. Uncle Rod's Ukulele Boot Camp helped to train my what chords go in what key knowledge.

But if you just want to play a song without looking at a sheet, you will first want to get rid of the chord diagrams (which by now I don't even look at) and just use the chord letters, then eventually play the heck out of the song in order to memorize.

Last, pick up your uke with nothing in front of you, and just start playing the song and figuring it out from what you remember and from what chord progression sounds best.

Granted, I haven't actually done this, but I can anticipate chord changes in most songs I know, so I can play from chord sheets probably too easily.

Plus figuring out a song by singing and playing with no chord sheets is how most people learned to play songs before the internet.

I have memorized so many chords by now that I can just look at the letters and know where to place my fingers, but still struggling to remember the chords to the song. I guess I'll just keep plugging away. Thanks Mr.Rios!