Catching fingers on up-strum

Joe90

Reaction score
Right after getting my uke and trying to play without a plec, i found my fingers got caught under the bottom string alot on the upward strum, with made me use a plec to get going. Now ive realised ill be missing a fair few strumming techniques in the future if i continue to use a plec, so my question is have any if you encountered this and did you get round it? All being said, my action does seem rather high at the bridge end so maybe this is a contributing factor?

Maybe try up-strumming with your thumbnail? It's slippery, so it should catch the strings.

But I understand if you want to use the fatty part of your fingers to get sort of a "mellower" strum. You should be using only one finger to strum upwards.

And I don't think the action is an issue, since most people (including myself) strum near or on top of the neck.

Hi Joe

As a fellow complete novice I too was using a plectrum but decided to try finger strumming. I am finding it very difficult partly for a medical reason and also, I think, mostly because of lack of experience. Strumming is a skill that takes practice to acquire. It sure looks easy when you see an experienced player doing it but then they had to learn at some point......

I think the trick is to keep practising and it will go right in the end.

Hi Joe

As a fellow complete novice I too was using a plectrum but decided to try finger strumming. I am finding it very difficult partly for a medical reason and also, I think, mostly because of lack of experience. Strumming is a skill that takes practice to acquire. It sure looks easy when you see an experienced player doing it but then they had to learn at some point......

I think the trick is to keep practising and it will go right in the end.