Goals For Beginners

Freak

Reaction score
Everyone knows that having defined goals helps progress, right? Post you goals here and let's all have a good time.

My plan is to learn to play the Super Mario theme within 6 months... I'm a slow learner.

Post!

I should also have mentioned that we'd love to have you as a member of the group, so just do what I do...post inane gibberish until your post count is out of proportion to the value of it's content.

One man's gibberish is another man's balderdash. Or something.

I am working on actually sorta picking a little. Yipes!

Yes come yammer with us!

Your Super Mario goal is a good one. When I started playing I learned a couple easy songs but then began setting goals for myself of learning pieces that were way more advanced than I was. It made me progress pretty rapidly (from my perspective anyway). I didn't know most people don't try finger picking right away so I went from "I'm Yours" to "Over The Rainbow" to one of Ken Middletons crazy celtic reels. It was a leap, but not impossible and it got me into setting difficulty goals for myself.
I also set goals with Uncle Rod's Ukulele Boot Camp. I played that whole thing through a couple times a day and sped up the metronome every few days. That was a big help as well.
Good luck with your goals!

Everyone knows that having defined goals helps progress, right? Post you goals here and let's all have a good time.

My plan is to learn to play the Super Mario theme within 6 months... I'm a slow learner.

Post!
Hello Freak,
After looking at the gymnasts at the Olympics on TV my goal is to try and touch my toes again before September. I can barely touch my ankles now. One would think those gymnasts are made with rubber bands. I would like to play more pieces from my old classical guitar books.
Regards
Jim

Duly noted on the group.