Can anyone help with this please.

harrylime

Reaction score
I am a novice progressing reasonably well on my Aria ACU-250 uke. As it is my desire to proceed to a Uke Banjo and play Formby style I am toying with the idea of buying one. I do not have much choice locally of suppliers where I can try one out but a little shop has just opened in my town. They have just one Uke Banjo which looks lovely and is on sale for £345. I went in today and played it and Wow!! compared to my little uke it felt and sounded so good. It was set up quite low and felt really easy to play. My problem is it's a "Richwood" and they seem to be guitar makers and makers of entry quality ukes. I can find little information on these and there is not even one on ebay by which I could compare price etc.I believe they are made in China. Thing is I could by an Ozark or other well known brand for similar money but could not test it first. Does anyone know about Richwood and what advise can anyone offer please. I am an old retired guy playing for pleasure by the way. Thanks.

If you have a local shop that could do a "setup" or minor repairs that perhaps you can't do, there are some amazing used banjo ukes/banjoleles on Ebay UK....many much nicer than the ones I see on our ebay. (the English may take better care of their "old things" I think.)

PS: I'm an old retired guy too, new to the Banjo uke.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_trksid=p5197.m570.l1313&_nkw=banjo+ukulele&_sacat=619

http://www.eaglemusicshop.com/details1.asp/ProductID/6676/sid/281/name - see comments below on this one: