Terms used on Moore Bettah site, help?

Asrafrate

Reaction score
Hi all,
am looking to invest in a new ukulele, specifically a Moore Bettah uke.

I'm still a newbie and I am no where near skilled enough to do justice to an instrument created by Chuck... BUT... that doesn't mean I can't own one and use it as inspiration to "get there"!

Plus I have a severe case of UAS and when I saw an example of his work I fell in love... :eek:

Ahem... anyway... what do the following terms mean?

body purfling
Rope binding
Bound fret board
Radius fret board

Came across these terms on this page:
http://www.moorebettahukes.com/FORSALE.html

body purfling is the decorative line on the top edge of the instrument

rope binding would be a body binding that is in a rope pattern with contrasting colors being "braided" to form a rope pattern

a bound fret board (I think) refers to adding a strip of wood to the outside edges of the fretboard.

Radiused fretboard refers to the fretboard having a slight curve instead of being flat straight across. It is supposed to make it easier to play as it mirrors the natural curve of your fingers.

Alls I can say, is "get in line' after me" lol.

If you're still a newbie, I suggest you look at a few higher end ukes and save the custom til you know what you want and how you want it setup. Since you already have a couple with the flat fretboard, your idea of a radiused fretboard is great. I really like a radiused fretboard and plan to have them with the rest of my future ukes. What I thought I wanted for a uke when I started and what I'm using now that I'm experienced is completley different and much more plain.

Have the ones you have now ever been setup professionally. That will make a big difference. UAS... it never ends. I swore to my dear one" I promise, this one will be the last". Now to tell her abut the Ubass coming in this Tuesday.

Last edited:
Thanks SmilingPanda!