Large hands + long fingers = Soprano impossible?

OliviaW

Reaction score
I'm a brand newbie, rank beginner, newly obsessed with all things uke and working on a serious UAS, woman. I bought a Flea Soprano because I loved the sound and the look. BUT the neck is narrow and not that thick (but what do I know?) I can still return it, I'm sure, and I'm also sure of a tenor in my future, but I want to keep this one, too, IF I can ever hope to master it.

Question: Is it even possible with someone with larger hands and very long fingers to play a soprano? And are there brands that anyone knows of that make thicker/wider necks? Opinions? Ideas? I'm open and hoping for all!

THANK YOU!!!

Well, I have long fingers, too, and I like the concert size - but it's worth remembering that men do play sopranos, and play them well, with their fatter fingers, so I thinks it's just a matter of getting used to it. Roy Smeck only ever played a soprano - if you like the soprano sound, I'd say stick with it! chords with long reaches are harder with a longer fingerboard - as I have just found! (3rd to 10th fret in an instrumental that I like...!!)

I'm a brand newbie, rank beginner, newly obsessed with all things uke and working on a serious UAS, woman. I bought a Flea Soprano because I loved the sound and the look. BUT the neck is narrow and not that thick (but what do I know?) I can still return it, I'm sure, and I'm also sure of a tenor in my future, but I want to keep this one, too, IF I can ever hope to master it.

Question: Is it even possible with someone with larger hands and very long fingers to play a soprano? And are there brands that anyone knows of that make thicker/wider necks? Opinions? Ideas? I'm open and hoping for all!

THANK YOU!!!

I'm 5'10" and have large hands/long fingers for a woman. Advantages: my fingers take up the entire fret space on a barre chord, and I can reach from fret 1 to 5 without any effort.