Calling all vintage Martin experts...

OldePhart

Reaction score
Okay...not a huge "vintage" guy but I do have my eye on what looks like it might be a pre-1927 Style-0 but the body is only a hair over 9 inches long and all the spec's I've seen on these indicate that the body was 9-7/16" This one is at least 3/8" shorter than that. Everything else seems to match up.

So, what's the skinny - was there some variation in body size?

John

Well, I am far from a Martin expert, but I understand that the body size was very consistent, except for a small variation on the body shape when Martin built for another company.....was it perhaps Ditson....I can't remember. Anyway, those had a very slight difference in the waist, I believe it was a bit wider, but that was about it.

I know that isn't much help but thought I would throw out what I know. I am interested to see a picture of what you have found if you can share one.

Edit: Just found one of the Ditson/Martin ukuleles with the slightly different shape.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/uketeecee/6992444263/

Last edited:
Where are you measuring the body? When I measure my Martins on the top, from the 12th fret to the tail is 9-3/16". If I measure the back, it's 9-7/16". That would account for most of the difference you are writing about. Mine are both older and newer than the one you are asking about and mine are all the same, give or take 1/16".

The eye you have on the Martin, John, is it your good eye? The one you measure with? At my age, I know, I have to be careful.
How, about the ruler? If you use an official vintage Martin ruler, the ukuleles are more consistent in length.

Well, I am far from a Martin expert, but I understand that the body size was very consistent, except for a small variation on the body shape when Martin built for another company.....was it perhaps Ditson....I can't remember. Anyway, those had a very slight difference in the waist, I believe it was a bit wider, but that was about it.