PickUp help

scobey

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

After a bit of help and advice. I recently decided to turn my uke into an electric one and after a bit of searching around i decided to buy the Mi-Si MS-ATU. I really liked the fact that i wouldn't have to change the battery and could just charge it up in 60 seconds.

Now i'm from the UK and so there isn't that much in the way of choice of places to buy but i eventually found a place and ordered one.

It's just arrived but isn't what i was expecting. From all the pics/reviews i've seen it should come with an under saddle pickup, like the pic below.

412424cbc29044a29a5ee7beddc1d627.jpg

But is instead of coming with the under saddle pickup, it looks instead like this.

5f447e7d.jpg

Now i'm no expert when it comes to things like this but do you think this is just their new model for 2012 or something else. There's nothing on the packaging to say what model it is and after looking on Mi-Si's website this product isn't on there.

Any help would be gratefully received.

its probably a transducer pickup instead of a under saddle. if you want to know how to install it, i think theres some helpful videos there.

I don't know about the trans. one, but I have two under-saddle ones in a Mainland tenor and concert and couldn't be happier. Good luck.

I agree, that looks like a "transducer" type of pickup.
Does it have self-adhesive sticky backing on one side?

It looks similar to ones I used on some of my ukes ten years ago (made by Fishman, I think) that were intended for acoustic guitars.
I've had good luck with them, you stick them inside the uke, usually under the bridge, without disturbing the saddle.

Were you intending to do the work yourself or use a luthier?

Last edited:
I've seen several high-end ukes with "stick on" transducers. K&K's are still a popular choice among many uke makers. May give you a "truer" acoustic tone than the under saddle. Lots of folks here can give you more info than I can.