What will I gain if I learn how to read music.

addicted2myuke

Reaction score
I have been playing the uke for 16 months. Because I practice every day, I have progressed to the point that I am wanting to learn more complicated chords to challange myself. I do not know how to read music and am finding it all too confusing between the diminished chords, the flats, sharps, majors, minors and all the rest. It's like a different language. What will I gain by learning to read music?

Can you play by ear? Do you play melody or just chords? If you play instrumentals, and you can't really play by ear, you have a lot to gain from learning to read music, in that any sheet music can be "ukulele music" and you won't have to rely on others to tab things out for you. As an instrumental player who doesn't sing, I'd be lost without it!

If you're solely a strummer, I'm not sure what you have to gain from it - perhaps others may have an opinion. Many ukulele strummers I know, including pretty much every Hawaiian player I've ever encountered, don't read standard notation.

Learning to read standard notation can be slow going at first, but it's worth it.

After re-learning to read music in standard notation---I hadn't read music since high school band class in the late 80s---I gained a better understanding of how melody and harmony (that's singing and chords, respectively) work together. I also gained access to an amazing amount of terrific music (folk song collections, sheet music, old uke method books, old collections of Hawaiian music, etc.) that has greatly enriched my life.

I started out with Ukulele Song Book In Notation and Tablature by Ron Middlebrook. This collection of folk, country, Hawaiian, and popular music has tablature below standard notation for every melody, perfect for learn which note is which on the staff. Another great resource is James Hill and J. Chalmers Doane's Ukulele in the Classroom series.

Whatever you do, have fun.