Learning Barre Chords

atech4him

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the uke world. I've had my uke for a few months but 2 weeks ago I got serious. I bought the Kindle ukulele for dummies. I have been working through that to learn chords.

Tonight, I was going strong and then it said to chane your finger pattern prepping to play barre chords. For example, the F chord in all the charts is 1st finger and second finger. To prep u to play f#, it suggests you use finger 2 and 3 so you free up your first one for the barre. I understand why, because it opens up the whole moveable chords thing and makes it easier.

My thing is I just spent 2 solid weeks drilling this into mt finger memory.

Now, you'uns that have been playing a while, do I keep my original fingerings for chords or do I switch them to the new for moveable chords. I'm hoping this is written clearly enough.

Thanks in advance! S

Get familiar with both ways. Depending on what chord you're playing before and after you will find it more comfortable to use one fingering or the other. Or maybe even others you haven't tried yet.

If, for example, you're playing F, and then a barred G, you probably will find it easier to use the second and third fingers for the F, but if you don't need to, just go with what feels better for you.

It's useful to be flexible with your fingering approach, and finger the chord according to what the following chord is.
That way you'll make the transitions smoother and therefore allow the music to flow.
There isn't a right or wrong way to fret a chord btw, it's all about making that transition from one chord to the other as smooth
as possible. The instruction books and chord charts are there to show you where the chord is on the instrument.
How you finger it however will be dependent on what I said earlier.
Hope this is of some help:)
Cheers
Gary