Binding rabbet......HELP!

bariukish

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
Got the uke bug about a year ago and bought a couple. Fun stuff. But since I have a small wood shop that I have been making mostly expensive sawdust for over 50 yrs, I decided to try my hand at a uke. Knowing my limitations in both equipment and skill, I bought a Stu-Mac tenor kit. How tough can that be, right? Anyway, to "personalize" it I have decided to change the top and add bindings, etc. Now the adventure begins.

First challenge: binding rabbet. My internet search for wisdom indicates that I should go back to work and send my paychecks to Stu-Mac or LMI. Certainly a lot of bucks for 1 or maybe 2 home built ukes. Can't wait til I try to size the top thickness to .080 with only a Jack plane and a belt sander. Anyway, here's my question: Since the back has a slight curve it makes it difficult to route the rabbet squarely. With all the dozens of other things that effect the acoustic characteristics of a uke, how big a deal is this small crown on the back? If I leave the back flat like the top, I think with the proper rabbet bit bearing, I can route a binding rabbet on my router table. This would, probably save me between $5oo to a couple of thousand in new tools. I must be missing something, this $10 solution is far to simple.

Your thoughts would certainly be welcome. I gain more and more respect for you guys with every hour that I have been spending in my shop.

If your good at holding things at a steady angle, for a cheap set up

buy this (or any laminate trimmer with an adjustable guide bearing- although they are all a bit dodgy):
http://www.grizzly.com/products/Trim-Router-Metal-Body/H7790

and put this in it:
http://www.grizzly.com/products/Solid-Carbide-Spiral-Downcut-Bit-1-4-Shank-1-4-Dia-/C1696

If your NOT good at holding things at a steady angle, buy it anyway and build variable height contraption to hold it at a constant angle- ie straight up and down.

Last edited: