Uke upgrade

Still Water Weapons

Reaction score
I have been lurking and learning a lot from all you guys. I am a beginner and I am looking to upgrade from my Makala. I was considering a Kala SC but now I am looking at a Kamoa E3-C, solid Spruce and Maple, from MIM. The other possibility is a Pono with a blem from HMS, price of those two being equal, which do you like? I have looked around quite a bit and while the Ponos have great comments, so does Kamoa although there are very few mentions of them.

I like the look of Spruce and gloss, but I am willing to give up the gloss for sound. Being a wood worker, I am not a big fan of Mahogany, I just think it's kind of boring looking. I have to admit though, I like the clean look of the Pono.

As I write this, I feel I'm leaning towards the Kamoa, so I guess the question has become, can I go wrong with that one, set up by MIM?

Thanks for your thoughts and all the opinions I have been reading.

Chris

Pono's are very high quality uke's!

They're right up there with the K-brands!...But, it's up to you. If you like the look and sound of the Kamoa, I say go for it.

Welcome Still Water Weapons,
You are on the right track as a woodworker, I have a solid maple with a cedar top tenor I made in 1976. I would only swap it for a new car. HaHa!! So I guess I would go for the spruce and maple Kamoa.
Jim

I upgraded a few months ago. Starting with a Stagg soprano laminate, I then bought a Pono Acacia Concert from Ukerepublic and I am quite happy with it. Not that I ever played either a Kamoa or Kala, I can only say that I am having fun playing my Pono.

Main reason why I chose that one over others (don't remember which ones I also had a look at) was that I liked the look of it and I did not find any bad reviews for it. If there is a place somewhere where you could playtest all of these that would probably be the best way to decide. If there is no option like that for you, I guess you will be fine with any of those brands.