What are truly the BEST, darkest, prettiest sounding strings for my Mahalo Sop. Uke??

Chase

Reaction score
Hey everybody!

I've had my Mahalo Soprano Ukulele for a little under 4 months, and I am really tired of the twangy, bright, and OUT OF TUNE sound the strings have!

Do any of you know what the darkest, nicest, roundest, etc... strings are that I could purchase for my instrument???

Anything helps!

try either D'addario concert strings (yes you can use concert size strings on a soprano, and you can buy them here on the UU store), or some Worth browns. I have some D'addario strings myself and i love them because of the mellower sound than other strings i have experimented with. I have heard the Worth browns are pretty mellow sounding but I have no first hand experience with them. I would go with D'addario.

I'm sorry, this is too tempting - its not the strings.

Sorry, but he is right.

You simply cannot buy $10 and expect a $25 dollar uke to sound good.

You really should upgrade the uke. If that is not an option though, I'd suggest Aquila strings. They seem to make worse ukes sound better. :D

Sorry, but he is right.

You simply cannot buy $10 and expect a $25 dollar uke to sound good.

You really should upgrade the uke. If that is not an option though, I'd suggest Aquila strings. They seem to make worse ukes sound better. :D

yeah yeah i know.....I bought this beginner ukulele for around $45 in a guitar shop in Florida. It isnt just a piece of crap, but again you guys are right when you say it is most definitely NOT an amazing one. For right now, i cant really afford to whip $100+ out of my pocket for a nice tenor uke (which is what i hope to get in the future).....that will take alot of saving and time...hahahaha

so for now, i just want to upgrade some nicer strings onto the instrument.....i've read some articles that say even that can help out the sound alot