My adventures in making a ukulele wall hanger

Jesie

Reaction score
FOREWORD TO YA'LL;
I am by no means a professional woodworker. I'm lucky to carve bone like I do with any level of skill. So you guys will have to pardon me if I make very simple mistakes. I'm open to critiques so if you see me doing something wrong or stupid, just tell me.

SO! The other day I went to a antique market and found a very old 1950s plastic Fin-Der Ukulele. Man was I happy about that, because thus far my collection consisted of very cheap and crappy Hobby Lobby ukuleles that can hold a tune about as well as a sieve holds sand.

Man were they ugly too, but after a little sanding and painting, I found them worthy of at lest wall art. Since I at that time did not have my carving work station made, I just molded the one wall hanger I have out of clay.

pineappleholder.png

Not the best quality item, but it works for wood ones.
However my wall is sorrily lacking. I only have one of the cheapy wood ukes hanging because I've yet to finish the second one. The plastic uke will be a welcomed addition to my very bare wall.

Now I didn't want to make a clay one for the plastic uke, because I don't know if any of you are familiar with polymer clay, but that crap will melt plastic. (Will peal off wood finish too. So many table tops ruined...) And I didn't want to take that chance with my antique ukulele, so I decided I would put my minimal woodworking skills to the job and make a nice wood one!

My father ever so graciously bought me a nice piece of poplar to use as the headboard. So I quickly went to work drawing out some tropical designs to carve out on the scroll saw.
After all it is a ukulele, and I love topical things. It's the only choice in my mind.

IMAG1445.png

IMAG1446.jpg

I decided to make a pig-nose triggerfish, a fishhook, and a palm tree. Since I'm a wee bit lazy I'll only work on one at a time. Starting with the palm tree.