Thoughts from the more experienced players on 5-strings?

BassGuyukin'

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm still fairly new with my ukes, going on about the fourth month here. I have made an observation. It seems that of all the # of string options on ukes, with 4, 5, 6 and 8 stringers available, seems as if the 5-string is the most UNcommon. But at the same time one of the most asked questions is whether to go with the high G or low G. Seems like with both on a 5-string that it would probably be next most common after the 4 string. But it's not.

I just ask this because I prefer the 5-strings by a longshot. I have had an 8 and don't care for it, I have had several high G strung 4s and they are great though lacking "meat", the low G strung 4s are better but lacking the sweetness of the high G, and here I have everything with a 5-string and it is perfect! Playing the Willie K tenor and love it.

Why aren't 5-string ukes more popular? Seems like a best of both worlds scenario.

I'm not sure why more people aren't interested in these, they sound like a great idea to me. There is a review of the Ohana five string tenor here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdWTlSrep_o.

I play baritone, and decided to have one made. I was torn between a five and six string. I tried an eight string and it seemed like too much tension. I also strung a mandolin in fourths, like a tiny little steel string baritone tuned one octave above a normal baritone ukulele, but the tension is even higher, of course, and the fretboard is just too narrow (form my hands anyway) to do much with.

I ultimately decided to get a six string, which is supposed to be ready next week. I still think the five string is a great idea, though, and may have one made in a "guitarra de golpe" (23 inch scale) later.

If you could post a sounds sample of what your five string sounds like, I would be interested. What wood did you use for yours?