Ab thunk

pootsie

Reaction score
Hey all. I just discovered something odd about my uke. It has a nice ringing sustain all over the fretboard EXCEPT for any Ab. G and A ring out nicely on all the strings they go bliiiinnnng! when I pluck them.

But the fret in between them goes thunk. In tune, but thunk instead of bliiinnng.

Is this just a problem with the resonance that cannot be fixed? Is it the strings? I know it is not one particular fret because it happens to Ab anywhere on the fretboard.

Help help.

Here is a vid showing my problem (and my frustration!)

Please help :uhoh:

Thanks for that

I did some googling and it seems like it's kind of the opposite of a true wolf tone. odd. Instead of causing excess resonance, it's like a flat spot.

Right where I wanted to play ... :(

Hmmm. Interesting. I have the same Uke, and I totally love the way it sounds when I strum. However, I recently started playing around with fingerstyle, and I began noticing that G# (on every string) goes thunk instead of, as you say, bliiinnng. Same Uke, same note.

I have been thinking of locating a luthier to see if maybe the problem can be fixed or at least improved, but I haven't gotten there yet.

Yeah, it does seem to be an idiosyncrasy with that particular instrument.

I say that this is an opportunity to try some different strings or tunings! Maybe just tuning all your strings down a half step and see if the problem continues, or pick up some different tension strings (here's another plug for SouthCoast mediums or heavies!) and try tuning things down.

I say that this is an opportunity to try some different strings or tunings! Maybe just tuning all your strings down a half step and see if the problem continues, or pick up some different tension strings (here's another plug for SouthCoast mediums or heavies!) and try tuning things down.